Written by Jeremy Beale

2019 MAPGA Section Award Recipients

The MAPGA Section Awards Committee is pleased to announce its 2019 Awards Class.  These individuals will join Hall of Fame Inductees Mike Ahrnsbrak, PGA  and Wayne DeFrancesco, PGA and be honored at our 2019 MAPGA Awards Banquet on March 23, 2019, at Lakewood Country Club.  Congratulations to all our winners!  Special thanks to the Awards Committee for their hard work in reviewing and making tough decisions on many award applications.  Our Awards Committee is made up of all of last year’s award winners, Chapter Presidents, and Section Officers, chaired by Honorary President Matthew Schulze, PGA.

PGA Professional of the Year

David Dorn, PGA

Woodmont Country Club
Bethesda, Maryland

Horton Smith Award

Jim Fitzgerald, PGA

Chevy Chase Club
Chevy Chase, Maryland

Teacher of the Year

Joy Bonhurst, PGA

Blue Mash Golf Course
Laytonsville, Maryland

Youth Player Development Award

Eric Layton, PGA

The Country Club of Virginia
Richmond, Virginia

Bill Strausbaugh Award

Lynne Hunter, PGA

Kenwood Golf & Country Club
Bethesda, Maryland

Assistant PGA Professional of the Year

Eli Mireles, PGA

Burning Tree Club
Bethesda, Maryland

Merchandiser of the Year (Private)

Ted Pogorelc, PGA

Bethesda Country Club
Bethesda, Maryland

Earle Hellen Sports Media Award

Chick Hernandez

Sports Anchor
Washington, D.C.

Player Development Award

Jeff Maynor, PGA

University of Maryland Golf Course
College Park, Maryland

Salesperson of the Year

Bobby Acciardo

Annapolis, Maryland

President’s Award


(MAPGA award for exceptional
contributions to golf and to the Section)

David Wortman Citizen of the Year

Col. Dick Johns, USA Ret.

Former Executive Director
Middle Atlantic PGA