Written by Ethan Brady

2017 MAPGA Award Winners

­­Each year the MAPGA recognizes its most outstanding PGA Professionals and Amateurs in the Middle Atlantic Region for their exemplary contributions toward making the PGA and the MAPGA better associations.

This year’s award recipients will be recognized March 6 at the 2017 MAPGA Spring Membership Meeting in Fredericksburg, Va. and the 2017 MAPGA Hall of Fame Banquet March 11 in Richmond, Va.

The 2017 MAPGA Award winners are headlined by Professional of the Year Matthew Schulze, PGA.

Schulze currently serves as the President of the MAPGA and Tournament Director of the LPGA Kingsmill Championship at Kingsmill Resort in Williamsburg, Va. Becoming an MAPGA member in 1999, Schulze worked at both Country Club of Virginia and Richmond Country Club before joining Kingsmill Resort. He was previously recognized as the MAPGA Assistant Professional of the Year in 2002.

The 2017 MAPGA Teacher of the Year is Trillium Rose, PGA, of Woodmont Country Club in Rockville, Md. Joining the MAPGA in 2009 at Chevy Chase Club, Rose began teaching at Woodmont in 2014.

Pat Coyner, PGA, of Baltimore Country Club is the 2017 Horton Smith Award recipient. The award is given to MAPGA members who exemplify outstanding service and contributions to developing educational opportunities for fellow PGA members. Coyner helped run education opportunities with the Assistant Professional Association and helped Mark Russo, PGA with the teaching summit.

The Bill Strausbaugh Award for club relations and community service will be awarded to J.P. Lunn, PGA, of Sabre Golf. Lunn joined the MAPGA in 1994 and currently serves as Vice President of the MAPGA.

From Kenwood Country Club, Scott Shapin, PGA is the 2017 Assistant Professional of the Year.  Shapin became an MAPGA member in 2006 at Columbia Country Club before joining Kenwood in 2012.

The 2017 Player Development Award recipient is John Oberly, PGA of Mt. Vernon Country Club. Oberly joined the MAPGA in 2012 and offers three levels of Get Golf Ready Programming at his facility.

Michael Pius, PGA is the 2017 Youth Player Development Award recipient for his work at the First Tee of Washington D.C.

The resort category Merchandiser of the Year is Brian Alley, PGA of Primland Resort in Meadows of Dan, Va.

The Merchandiser of the Year in the private category is Jim Schouller, PGA of Fountain Head Country Club in Hagerstown, Md.

In the public category of Merchandiser of the Year, Rick Rounsaville, PGA is the 2017 recipient for his work at Bulle Rock Golf Club.

The 2017 Earle Hellen Sports Media Award recipient is William Millsaps, former Times Dispatch columnist and VSGA board member.

The 2017 Salesperson of the Year is Britt Sloan of Britt Sloan Golf, a representative of Bushnell, Sun Mountain and other golf merchandise companies.

Jack Vardaman, Chairman of the Board of the First Tee of Washington D.C. is the 2017 David Wortman Citizen of the Year. The award is given to an amateur whose contributions to the MAPGA include the development and promotion of golf as a business community leader.